philomathia logo



Our Partners

The Philomathia Foundation is very grateful to its university partners, especially the scientists and scholars among their faculties and students, in supporting our Vision and Values. Our funding support in research and scholarships is granted through the universities. We are open to discussions with other universities to establish new programs and initiatives; however, all applications for funding are by invitation only.


University of California, Berkeley

berkleyUC Berkeley is the flagship campus of the University of California. It is renowned for its research excellence and pioneering achievements across numerous disciplines. Berkeley faculty, alumni and researchers have won more than 70 Nobel Prizes since the school was founded in 1868.

Berkeley offers approximately 350 degree programs across a wide range of disciplines. While most enrollments are in undergraduate programs, Berkeley also offers a comprehensive doctoral graduate program. Berkeley excels in energy research programs, and is home to the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.


University of Cambridge

cambridgeFounded in 1209, The University of Cambridge is the second-oldest university in the United Kingdom. As one of the top academic universities in the world, its alumni and faculty have contributed greatly to the advancement of mathematics and science, and have been awarded more Nobel Prizes than any other university.

Cambridge is comprised of a variety of institutions including 31 constituent colleges and over 100 academic departments, organized into six schools. Aside from academic studies, student life is centred on the colleges and numerous pan-university artistic activities, societies, and sport clubs.


McMaster University

mcmasterMcMaster began its history in 1887 in Toronto and relocated to Hamilton in 1930. It offered its first PhD program in 1949. This was followed by a rapid expansion in its science programs and the commissioning of the McMaster Nuclear Reactor. The McMaster Medical School was established in 1965 and pioneered a problem-based medical curriculum which has since been widely adopted. Consistently ranked among Canada’s top public research schools, McMaster University has produced two Nobel Prize-winning alumni and was allocated 69 Canada Research Chairs by the Canadian government in 2000.


Chinese University of Hong Kong

chinese university of hong kongThe Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) was established in 1963 through the merger of New Asia College, Chung Chi College and United College. Firmly rooted in Chinese culture, it is home to comprehensive academic research, with a faculty that includes several Nobel Prize winners.

As a collegiate university, the school comprises nine colleges that differ in character and history. While CUHK has emphasized the importance of both English and Chinese, most classes adopt English as the main language of instruction.